Covered in glory! Shortlist announced for the annual DMU Journalism magazine prize

Magazine covers by DMU Journalism students

These are the covers stars in the running for the annual magazine prize for Journalism students at De Montfort University, Leicester.

Four eye-catching fronts made the shortlist for this year’s hotly contested competition, which rewards excellence by students on the third-year magazine journalism module at DMU.

The titles in 2023’s clash of the covers are:

Final Whistle, created by James Kendrick, Ben Stevens and Jayden Whitworth

Urbn, created by Charlie Cullinan, Sarah Danquah and Abbie Morgan

Real, created by Alex Marks McLeod, Shaikha Rahimi and Chloe Rowe

Offbeat, created by Nick Gascoyne, Darnell James-Percival and John Perry

Each year, groups of journalism students at DMU create print and digital magazines from scratch –  choosing the theme, naming the publication, landing the stories, and adding columns and reviews. They design the pages using industry-standard software and create websites and build their magazines’ social media presence. The task gives them the chance to combine all the practical skills they have learned and refined in three years of study – and to apply them to a real-world journalistic project.

The cover award is being judged by Kate Williams, editor of Chat, one of Britain’s biggest-selling real-life magazines.

The winners, who will share a £200 prize, will be revealed soon.

This poll is no longer accepting votes

Which magazine cover do YOU think should win?
%d bloggers like this: