DemonFM team overwhelmed to be nominated for six ‘I Love Student Radio’ awards

By Sophie Sandberg

De Montfort University’s DemonFM station has been shortlisted for six I Love Student Radio awards and its team are delighted that their hard work is getting some recognition.

The ‘I Love Student Radio’ awards is an annual ceremony held at the National Student Radio Conference, which De Montfort University is hosting in April this year.

These awards are created to cherish the commitment and hard work of students working with student radio.

DemonFM is this year nominated for Most improved student radio station, Best training initiative with its 21st birthday event and ‘The Afternoon Show’ crew was nominated as Student Radio Team of the Year.Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 16.09.42

Ollie McGrath, Head of Programming, alongside Ryan Cooper, Head of Tech, were nominated for most outstanding contribution to a student radio station.

“I try to put everything into DemonFM and it does feel nice to have been nominated for this,” said Ollie McGrath.

“It’s a testament to everyone that puts so much into DemonFM that we have got these 6 nominations, now let’s go win them!”

Ryan Cooper added: “It’s incredible to have been nominated for this award and makes all the effort that has been put in throughout the year worth it.

“If this award is won by me, it will be on behalf of the whole team because the commitment displayed by us all in keeping the station on air 24/7 is unbeatable.”

Hannah Rowe, DemonFM station manager, who was nominated for the Committee Member of the Year category, said: “Amazingly humbled by this nomination.

“Without the work of the wonderful DemonFM team around me, none of what we’ve achieved this year would be possible. I’m just proud to be a Demon.”

The winners will be announced at the National Student Radio Conference between April 19th and 21st.

%d bloggers like this: